First blog post: The Power of Impact

This weekend I am headed down to Atlanta to participate in a continuing education dry needling course. I am really looking forward to this opportunity to learn and see the impact it has on our patient’s once I have completed the 50 hours that are required.

One thing that has been on my mind this week is the power of impact and the ability to make a difference. We wake up every morning and we have an opportunity to make an impact or a difference in someone’s life. Someone out there is waiting for us to reach out to them, and make the extra effort! Remember, you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take!

Whether you wave to your neighbors when you are driving through the neighborhood, shaking someone’s hand, or telling someone “I hope you have a good day” you are making an impact. My work day starts around 5:45 A.M. and often we have patients waiting at the door of the clinic at 6:45 A.M., and from the moment I come into contact with patient’s I make an effort to ask everyone about their day, how their ┬ákids are doing, or what their plans are for the weekend. I may be a little different than most medical professionals, but whether its a hug or a handshake I make sure everyone of my patients receives that gesture.

When someone comes to you in pain and in search of a solution for their injury they are enduring, something as simple has a “How are you?” and a hug or a handshake is enough to turn their day around. Think about it…. What if you went into your local grocery store or even a restaurant and before you even walked down the aisle you were greeted by an employee that shook your hand, and asked “How may I help you? ” This is why companies like Chick-fila and Publix have separated themselves from other companies as offering excellent customer service. It goes a long way.

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

